BFI Academy
Story

BFI Film Academy at the Nerve Centre Launches

22 Aug 2019

Nerve Centre is delighted to launch its 2019-20 BFI Film Academy and invites applications from students aged 16-19 years of age, who are passionate about all aspects of film.

Over the last seven years, BFI Film Academy at the Nerve Centre has trained over 130 students in short film production, mentored by Industry leaders to create a pathway to employment in the creative industries in Northern Ireland and beyond.

BFI Film Academy offers students an opportunity to work in teams to write, produce and direct original short films in an industry led environment. Students complete masterclasses with industry professionals during the course to enhance learning and gain an insight into the realities of working in film.

BFI Academy students have previously attended talks with directors Danny Boyle (Trainspotting, Slumdog Millionaire), Cannes Film Festival winner Andrea Arnold (American Honey), Jon Baird (Filth), Damien O’Donnell (East is East, Inside I’m Dancing), Producers Greg Spence (Game of Thrones), Andrew Eaton (Rush, 24 Hour Party People), Ivanna MacKinnion (Slumdog Millionaire), Chris Martin (Good Vibrations), writers Glen Leyburn, Lisa Barros D’Sa (Good Vibrations), writer Frank Cottrel Boyce (Millions, 24 Hour Party People).

Students that have successfully completed the BFI Film Academy become part the growing BFI Film Academy alumni network with access to Industry events and further training opportunities through Pinewood Studios, BAFTA, BFI and the NFTS.

Graduates of the BFI Film Academy have gained training and employment on BBCs Blue Planet, HBO’s Game of Thrones and have directed and produced short films for Northern Ireland Screen, BBC NI, RTE and have crewed in short and feature film productions across NI and beyond.

The deadline to apply for 2019/20 BFI Film Academy is Friday, September 20th at 5pm. Click here to complete an online application form.

 

Please note, students must be available on all of the following course dates:

Thurs 26 Sept 2019 5pm -8pm

Sat 5th Oct 2019 10am – 4pm

Sun 6th Oct 2019 12pm – 5pm

Thurs 10th Oct 2019 5pm – 8pm

Thurs 17 Oct 2019 5pm - 8pm

Sat 19 Oct 2019 10am - 4pm

Thurs 24 Oct 2019 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 7 Nov 2019 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 14 Nov 2019 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 21 Nov 2019 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 28 Nov 2019 5pm - 8pm

Sat 30 Nov 2019 10am - 4pm

Thurs 5 Dec 2019 5pm - 8pm

Sat 7 Dec 2019 10am - 6pm

Thurs 12 Dec 2019 5pm - 8pm

Sat 14 Dec 2019 10am - 6pm

Thurs 19 Dec 2019 5pm - 8pm

Sat 4 Jan 2020 10am - 4pm

Thurs 9 Jan 2020 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 16 Jan 2020 5pm - 8pm

Thurs 23 Jan 2020 5pm - 8pm

Friday 24 Jan 2020 5pm - 7pm