Submission Deadline for Foyle Film Festival Awards Competition Extended

Submission Deadline for Foyle Film Festival Awards Competition Extended

Due to unprecedented demand, Foyle Film Festival is extending the deadline for this years Light in Motion competition to Monday, October 13 2014.

The Foyle Film Festival, now in its 27th year, is one of only a handful of International festivals with Oscar® affiliation, BAFTA and BIFA recognition.

Recipients of the LIM Award qualify for consideration in the Short Films Category of the Annual Academy Awards® without the standard theatrical run, provided the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules.

British short films and animations that screen as part of the LIM Awards at Foyle film Festival can be submitted for consideration to the Short film Awards at BAFTA. Independently funded feature films (fiction and documentary) screened at Foyle qualify for consideration in the British Independent Film Awards. Previous winners and competitors at Foyle Film Festival’s Light in Motion Awards who have proceeded to win an Oscar® include Terry George (The Shore), Martin McDonagh (Six Shooter), Adam Elliot (Harvie Krumpet) and Juanita Wilson (The Door).

The Three Competition Categories under LIM are:

• Best Short Film

• Best Animation

• Best Documentary

Foyle Film Festival is now open for submissions for the 2014 Light In Motion Awards. Closing date for entries is extended to Monday 13 October 2014 at 5pm. Full competition information available here.

For further competition information contact Eavan King, Competition Manager at Foyle Film Festival, the Nerve Centre on: 028 71267432, via e-mail: or visit the festival's website.

Location map